Despidida: Shi Lin

Before my departure for Singapore last December 15, the Trio (Pammy, Krizia, and I) decided to meet up for our last “high maintenance” eat out for the year 2016 since I’ll be returning in January 2017 already. Thanks to the Booky app, it made our last “high maintenance” eat out a little not too high, since we were given Php500 off on top of the minimum order of Php1000.

Shi Lin, as much as it sounds like a Chinese restaurant, it is a Taiwanese restaurant. I haven’t heard anything about it yet, and since it has a Php500 off in the Booky app, I was quite hesitant about booking a reservation because it’s quite questionable that all the available hours are on Php500 off, are they just trying to sell it off?

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

When we entered there were a lot of seats available, so the doubt in my heart grew bigger. However, I noticed how detailed the interior was. There was an abundance of chandeliers, enormous mirrors, intricate porcelains, and varnished woods. My aesthetics are being pleased, the growing doubt seems to subside little by little.

snapseed

Hakaw (155) and Xiao Long Bao (275)

We ordered Xiao Long Bao (275) and Hakaw (155) for our dumplings. Krizia is not really a fan of dumplings but these 2 dumplings are Pammy and I’s personal favorites. The first time I tasted Xiao Long Bao was at Din Tai Fung in Singapore, and despite getting my tongue burned from the surprise boiling hot water inside the dumplings, it still became my favorite. Since then, every time we are ordering dumplings if there is Xiao Long Bao then that’s automatically what we will order.

Shi Lin was able to give the authenticity of the dumplings, the Hakaw’s shrimp was really nourished (if you know what I mean~), while the Xiao Long Bao tasted how I expected it to be. Good thing, the ventilation at the restaurant was also good that’s why it didn’t take too long for the dumplings to turn cold. I don’t know if that’s a good thing but for someone eating the Xiao Long Bao, I think I’d prefer it a little colder than when it was served.

snapseed

Deep Fried Asado Bun (145) and Braised Beef Noodles

We also ordered Deep Fried Asado Bun (145) and Braised Beef Noodles (150-200). We didn’t really intend on buying the Asado bun, but we anticipated it being alike to Tim Ho Wan’s Baked Bun so we decided to try it. As much as the bun didn’t break off leaving roti-prata-like crumbs like how it was in Tim Ho Wan, but it was really recommended because the amount of filling was not too frugal that it’s just a tiny bit in the middle. The filling was generous and it tasted very authentic.

However, for the Braised Beef Noodles, I expected a lot since I thought it was their recommended dish. Despite the noodles, beef, and the vegetable being cooked well, I was quite disappointed with the taste of the soup. It tasted somewhere near mild spicy and being a little sour.

snapseed

Fried Rice with Fried Porkchop and Egg (260)

We ordered Fried Rice with Fried Porkchop and Egg (260) which is self-explanatory. lol Since we are Asians, rice meal cannot be absent in the table. So, we tried it and the fried rice did taste like a bona fide Chinese fried rice, it definitely sat well in my taste buds and the Porkchop was also tender.

Krizia arrived late, so we had to order one more rice for her–although we know very well that she won’t be able to finish it. We ordered the Fried Rice with Shrimp and Egg (150), and there were a lot of shrimps, really. Every time I scoop a rice, a lot of shrimps really go together with it! I like it!

Our picture! Yayyyy, I’ll definitely miss these girls!!! Love you both always and forever!!!

So there you have it! If you want to visit a restaurant that serves not so commercialized servings yet with a price that is cheaper than its quality. Go to Shi Lin! You can find it at Fourth Floor, Trinoma Mall, North Triangle, Quezon City. Get the Booky app as well!!! And check Zomato for any information that you need. Hope to hear your experience!

Leave a Reply

