After the Busy Day: Cafe Laya

img_1286

In my entire college life, this day, November 10, actually marked the busiest day I ever had. I had a 9-12pm class (wherein I was late for 45 minutes), 1-3pm orientation seminar for the university-wide Career fair, 3-5pm make-up class and a 6-8pm seminar/workshop at De La Salle University. Don’t ask me where the enthusiasm and energy came from! I, myself, didn’t know where it came from, especially I had a class until 9pm the day before! (*~So awesome, human body!~*)

But after the hustle and bustle, we decided to have dinner at Cafe Laya near De La Salle University. It is one of those cafes that were confined in a limited space, but the limit is actually what makes it more comfortable.

Cafe Laya also supports local goods because they actually sell some locally made products in the entrance. However, I will never forget their narrow door. I thought I gained too much weight, but it seemed like the problem is not with me but with the door. lol

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

The restaurant is high-ceilinged so they were able to make it a two-storey restaurant. It had a spiral staircase which I believe they chose to save space. On the second floor, it has a balcony-like design, which makes it appealing for my aesthetics. In fact, I’d like to copy the interior design once I get my own pad! #RealTalk.

For the tables and chairs, I found it cute that they didn’t just choose a cushion for the sake of having a cushion, but they actually made an effort to balance the color scheme with the neutrality of wall and floor colors.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Keso de bola Carbonara (200), Pesto Bolognese (200) and Garlic Tapa (125)

I have a low regard on Keso de Bola itself, every time it gets served during Christmas, I always refuse to eat it because first, I don’t know how to eat it, second, they said it doesn’t taste good, and third I don’t even want to try. But, having it in my Carbonara, which is my most favorite kind of Pasta, I had no choice but to taste it! Actually, the Keso de Bola did a great job in balancing the taste and making the quality better than its price.

Pammy, on the other hand, ordered Pesto Bolognese. I was expecting meatballs with the Bolognese but they failed me. In terms of Pasta, Pesto is also one of my favorites, regardless if it is a legit one from an authentic Italian restaurant or from the good-enough ones. But, the Pesto that I always eat is the green one, so when I saw this one being a red one I already had the idea of it being from the canned Pesto sauce that my brother bought before. The pesto tasted tangy, however since I like rare-tasting pasta, I decided to switch with Pammy and finished her food as she finished mine.

Lastly, the Tapa meat was tender and the egg was really cooked the way how I’d personally like it. The yellow part can be pricked! I love eggs. Seriously. 

All in all, the foods are very excellent for their price and the ambiance is also commendable because of its design. However, their wifi is not working well. I don’t know if it’s because of our location on the second floor, but I do hope that they would have it fixed. Since, the signal in the building already sort of sucks. Probably some would be happy with the set up because it’s really a time out from the outside world.

But, when it’s late and your family is waiting for you, it’s another story.

So there you have it! If you want to visit a restaurant that has a good ambiance, good food, and good mission and vision. Go to Cafe Laya! You can find it at Unit 113, Ground Floor, EGI Taft Tower, 2239 Taft Avenue, Malate, Manila And check Zomato for any information that you need. Hope to hear your experience!

Leave a Reply

