Paraluman: Singing Alternative Class

Last October 27, 2016, I was invited to be an instructor in the annual alternative class of the College of Rehabilitation Science (CRS) at the University of Santo Tomas (at the building behind ours, to be exact.) This will be my first ever experience of being an instructor, and I was stoked when the Student Council secretary, Julianne Yabut, invited me! That even though I have a make-up class in my major subject from 3-5pm, I didn’t back out from this event because, hello experience!?

It wasn’t really a grandiose event like a huge workshop on singing, but it is more of a close interaction with a small group. There were 2 batches, the first batch was from 1-2:30 pm, with 3 people. And the next batch was from 3-4:30 pm, with 6 people.

I actually prepared a powerpoint presentation, but since there are only a few people I decided to just do a monolog, and then asked them to sing. I shared my experience in my road to Tawag ng Tanghalan— which almost 3 months passed already and I haven’t done my blog nor my vlog about it. I also shared the rough road prior to being part of the most sought-after noontime televised singing contest. And then, I asked them to sing hoping that I can teach them the breathing, or how to reach certain notes, or if they’re sounding too nasal. But, they are too shy. So, I just jammed with them and talked about everything in this world, and of course, I also did encourage them to join the said contest.

Being at the building of the CRS, it felt like I am in another dimension. It has a total diverse culture compared to what we have in our building. Their hallways seemed like hallways in the hospital, something wide and illuminated, the doors also felt like hospital doors, packed with unique stories for each door. The way people talk is calmer and they always look into your eyes like as if asking about your need.

I don’t know if it’s because they are being molded as health service provider, whereas in our building we are being molded as fighters for justice and against the ill-natured schemes, therefore we are more of the aggressive and defensive type. Or probably I was just overthinking because it’s my first time doing something in their building and not just merely using their facilities.

These are my “students” for batch 1 and batch 2. As much as I wanted to include their names, I am not really good with names. I remember my students from batch 1, but from batch 2 some names are sketchy– gosh I really have to work on that.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

The event finished at around 4:30pm, and after I was given the certificate and the token of appreciation. I already left because I have to meet my friends and ask about the make-up class which I scheduled *rolls eyes* but missed.

Since CRS gave me a 500-worth of Starbucks gift certificate, we continued the plan of eating/drinking/just quality time together. I thought our plan of drinking or eating will no longer push through, but guess where we are? We were at Starbucks Carpark and spent all the gift certificate.

And honestly, I can’t remember the last time I had an insane good laugh.

This is a such a good day, thank you Lord!

Leave a Reply

